82 King Street c. 1786
Robert Haig House c. 1786 Builder Robert Haig partnered with Alexander Don to construct the beaded weatherboard Charleston Single House located at 82 King Street and the structure was completed in the later months of 1787. The land was originally purchased as a portion of a larger lot running north on King Street owned by George Ross, a Scottish tin merchant. The original piazza was first added to the house in 1815 and replaced years later by the two-story Neoclassical Revival style portico visible today. The “Single House” was a creative response to the various demands of their unique Charleston urban landscape; a house that provided privacy, ventilation, fire protection, and social status within the confines of a tightly restrictive public space. The Charleston Single House in its many variations remains a remarkable example of vernacular architecture adapting itself to the demands of the environment, culture, and society.